Pre-monsoon weather…

Standard

I arrived in India in May. May is the hottest month of the year-and it was really hot! One day it was a scorching record breaking 47 degrees Celsius in the city. It was made worse by awful winds that made me feel like I was standing in front of a giant hair dryer. Luckily, that was only one day. Now it is mid-June and there are still hot days, of course, but there are also great rainy days that bring the temperature down-and nice cool winds that keep the air fresh. This is pre-monsoon weather, apparently, and we are in for a week of it. As someone from a cooler part of the world, I am thrilled. Of course, after the rainy spell the sun comes out and the humidity hits which is a different kind of horrible but, so far, I prefer it.

People here tell me the monsoon time is awful. Based on the pre-monsoon I do not think I will mind but we shall see. I am interested to see what it will be like. The difference between pre-monsoon and monsoon is, supposedly, that the in pre-monsoon the rain comes for an hour or two and stops. In monsoon, it is supposed to go on and on, take a break, and come back again. Winds are also supposed to be stronger and more consistent during monsoon. I see this as a plus. Monsoon time also means continuous cloud cover rather just than during the rainy spurts. Also a plus if you ask me as that should reduce humidity, no?

The news has been going on about major cities being rain ready which makes me wonder what kind of chaos I am not thinking of. Traffic chaos? Drainage chaos? Whatever it is, I am curious and looking forward to it. I just hope it does not bring about too many mosquitoes! We shall see. But, for now, I sure am enjoying this pre-monsoon weather!

Leave a Reply

