Summer pleasures…

Standard
Sunflowers are finally coming along.

Sunflowers are finally coming along.

How lucky are we? Earlier this week, as I washed dishes, I watched my husband walk across the yard to our plum tree. He picked 15 or so small plums for an after dinner dessert. In the mornings, I often pick a few strawberries from our few plants which are still producing yummy berries every few weeks. They add some delight to my mornings. Each time we made homemade pizza this summer, I added on fresh basil and oregano from the garden (the oregano is especially good!). Carrots, zucchini, onions, peppers, and cucumbers are also quick to access.

Fresh produce, fruits, and herbs are really a summer pleasure. Being able to pop into the garden and get what we need whenever we feel like it has been amazing. Since my garden has grown quite a bit, the look of the backyard has also improved a lot! Myself-and others I noticed-enjoy spending time in it.

In the evenings, after work, on warmer days I like to unwind by giving everything a good watering. The smell of freshly watered tomato plants is especially wonderful. This year, the joys will be prolonged as I recently planted a second crop of onions, carrots, peas, and herbs that will be ready in early October. We will also have pumpkins to look forward to well into October! Yahoo.

Some of my pumpkins...turning orange.

Some of my pumpkins…turning orange.

Leave a Reply

