2015 In Review…

Video

Wow-I think 2015 was the fastest passing year in my life! I have to say that it was not the most exciting year and there were hard moments and issues that still need to be resolved (mostly with one or two family members) but generally it was a quiet and simple year. This is not the way I usually like it but life has changed a lot since getting married several years ago.

I have definitely felt a sensation of settling down this past year…from realizing I want to stay at my job long term, to moving into a flat into my parent’s home where making improvements to the home and garden really matter and are ours to keep (so to speak), and to my husband leaving a job to pursue a first real career. Serious adult stuff. I can only imagine that 2016 will be more of the same.

Regardless, here are a few snapshots from 2015 in which I reflect on some of the highlights of each month!

JANUARY:

In January we went on a ski-trip which was the highlight of the month! It was the first time for my husband and here is is flat on his back. A position he found himself in often.

In January we went on a ski-trip which was the highlight of the month! It was the first time for my husband and here he is flat on his back. A position he found himself in often! He was not a fan!

FEBRUARY:

My new lemon tree.

In February my husband got me a Meyer Lemon tree for Valentines Day! Currently it is planted outside and I hope it survives the winter.

MARCH:

Not much went on in March. We had my mom's birthday my sister and I went out for a wonderful 1 to 1 tea pictured here.

Not much went on in March. We had my mom’s birthday my sister and I went out for a wonderful 1 to 1 tea pictured here.

APRIL:

This month I started the seedlings for my first veggie garden. We also moved out of our rental on a hobby farm into a flat in my parent's home to help them out. Our first improvement project was painting some outdoor posts over Easter break.

This month I started the seedlings for my first veggie garden. We also moved out of our rental on a hobby farm into a flat in my parent’s home to help them out. Our first improvement project was painting some outdoor posts over Easter break.

MAY:

We also rescued this baby bunny this month which we later took to an animal shelter. Most of the month was spent watching the garden come together though!

We also rescued this baby bunny this month which we later took to an animal shelter. Most of the month was spent watching the garden come together though!

In May my husband took me on a special date to the aquarium.

In May my husband took me on a special date to the aquarium.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

JUNE:

This photo shows some cattle at the zoo which is not the ideal snapshot but I did not take many photos this month. This month my sister and her family were here for a visit. We spent time doing fun things such as going to the zoo, out to restaurants, and also celebrated 4 birthdays!

This photo shows some cattle at the zoo which is not the ideal snapshot but I did not take many photos this month. This month my sister and her family were here for a visit. We spent time doing fun things such as going to the zoo, out to restaurants, and also celebrated 4 birthdays! I also had my car accident which is still creating issues 6 months later.

JULY:

This month was all about fighting with my sister (no pic available) but also the garden harvest, summer sunsets, and the sad loss of my aunt.

This month was all about fighting with my sister (no pic available) but also the garden harvest, summer sunsets, and the sad loss of my aunt.

AUGUST:

August was vacation month! The husband and I took a gorgeous trip to the Canadian Rockies. This was also the seed that led my husband to change his career.

August was vacation month! The husband and I took a gorgeous trip to the Canadian Rockies. This was also the catalyst that led my husband to decide to leave his job and pursue a new career.

SEPTEMBER:

Is this guy not the cutest? His wool is the coolest texture but full of dirt, grass, and other dust!

September was a busy work month but also the last of summer. We took it easy, I worked on my garden, we visited the garden centre that is home to the above sheep, and this month the skinny jeans fit.

OCTOBER:

Pumpkin patch... not sure where all the vines went!

October was the month my husband passed his test and obtained his new license and was looking for a new job. I also had a busy work month but we made time to enjoy autumn as well as my favourite holiday, Halloween.

NOVEMBER:

diwali2015

A stressful month at work, lots of distance from my husband due to his new career, but at least there was Diwali to celebrate.

DECEMBER:

Eastern Oregon was beautiful. It was also early morning and I felt very at peace. Lots of wind farms along the way throughout the whole drive.

This month was all about taking time off work after a few stressful months. A long work road trip with my husband was great as was all the excitement for preparing for Christmas.

Christmas cupcakes!

Christmas cupcakes with buttercream frosting! Christmas was a bit disappointing this year for some reason and the time off and excessive family time also made me reflect on all kinds of things that stirred up lots of emotions.

Leave a Reply

