Road trip re-cap…

Standard
An arch on the roadway in Nebraska.

An arch on the roadway in Nebraska.

Well, I have been back from my truck road trip for some time but did not have time to write about it. Since I got back it has all been about Christmas shopping, social gatherings, and just enjoying being home after all that time on the road. My husband is also on holiday now until next year. Our trip went as follows: I flew into Omaha where we spent a bit of time, then we drove through Nebraska, into Wyoming, through a bit of Utah, across Idaho, and to Tillamook, Oregon.

It was cold and a bit snowy in Wyoming.

It was cold and a bit snowy in Wyoming.

Since it was official work time for my husband and I was really just there to keep him company it was mostly just driving, stopping for meals together, and living the truck lifestyle.

The good news is that it was much better than I thought (good bed, good heating, good clean showers) and there are a lot of things made easy by technology (truck specific GPS, wifi, portable DVD players) and services designed for people in this field.

Utah landscapes were interesting.

Utah landscapes were interesting.

The only bad things would be that there is quite a bit of waiting time (unpaid) and it is a bit of a solitary lifestyle. I could see how it would appeal to some as there is a certain kind of freedom involved.

Anyway, it was an interesting look into my husband’s new career and he sure was glad for the company. Also, it is always good to see a bit more of America. I enjoying seeing how the landscapes change and imaging how difficult life must have been for the first settlers. I even thought I may want to read the Little House on the Prairie series again sometime soon. I loved those books when I was a child.

We did a lot of singing while driving but also had a lot of time to think and talk. There is nothing like long driving trips to make all sorts of things come up. I extracted a Christmas wish list out of my husband that my sisters have been asking me to provide, we talked about our big picture financial plans and goals, gossiped about family and friends, decided we should just stay home for New Year’s Eve, and imagined what it may be like to have a cute little daughter with pigtails running around the house!

The trip made me also forget all about work and reminded me about just living life and thinking about what I want out of life-and that life really is a lot about being with family and loved ones.

Here are a few more snapshots from the road:

Eastern Oregon was beautiful. It was also early morning and I felt very at peace. Lots of wind farms along the way throughout the whole drive.

Eastern Oregon was beautiful. It was also early morning and I felt very at peace. Lots of wind farms along the way throughout the whole drive.

Huge Air Museum in Tillamook, Oregon. Driving in this area is basically like being home...rain, rain, rain.

Huge Air Museum in Tillamook, Oregon. Driving in this area is basically like being home…rain, rain, rain.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Driving away from it all… | I am 34 now

Leave a Reply

