My husband has started his new career…

Standard

Well, it is official and my husband is now a long haul truck driver. He came up with the idea in August after our road trip, did his courses and driver training, passed all the tests, filled out all his paperwork for North America, and finally got a job this month. He has been on his first drive down to Texas since last Saturday and I expect him home late on Thursday night. Am excited to see him.

This is the begining of a whole new lifestyle for us. We have spent very little time apart so far in our marriage other than immediately after when we had to wait for the government to approve his immigration application so this week has been a bit different for us. At first he was a bit sad on the road as the job was not comparable to the fantasy he built up in his head (reality check!) but his spirits have improved a lot. Part of the reason the reality check was not impressive was because he is driving with a stranger which took him time to get comfortable with, he realized showers are not easy to access, and he found it difficult to sleep while the other driver drove which made him irritable for days. However, he got used to many of these things and told me he wants to keep on this career path but wants to be a single driver instead of a team driver down the road. For now, in his training stage, he has no choice.

As for me, I assumed I would have a lot of time on my hands but it turned out not to be the case as I had an influx of work and a really great chat with my boss about my career that has invigorated me. I was able to get a lot of work done this week but I felt like all I did was work, sleep, and eat which is not the kind of life I want to live so I will have to make sure to find balance but I will save that for another post!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Driving away from it all… | I am 34 now

Leave a Reply

