Tomato mania…

Standard

tomatoesvarietiesTomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes-tomatoes everywhere! For the last few months my tomato bushes have been producing delicious organic yellow and red tomatoes. The yellow ones are very yummy. The red ones I planted are of different varieties-although the smaller ones are my favourite. I have eaten hundreds of tomatoes in the last while (as has my family). Now, I am sick of them!

I know in a month or so I will miss them and long for them but, for now, I am so done with them. In fact, for the last two weeks I have taken a big basket of them to my workplace and left them in the staff kitchen where they were snatched up before lunchtime. People raved about them. I, however, am at a loss as to what to do with them. I put this “problem” on my Facebook and people suggested making ketchup, sauces, soups, or salsa. I may do all that later (I have been craving a yummy tomato soup) but am too lazy right now-to be honest. Definitely impressed with tomato plants as they produce a lot. Before growing my own, I was not a big fan of tomatoes but these home grown ones are delicious.

I also wrote a post called cucumber mania a while back. We ate heaps of cucumbers all summer but now things are slowing down. Another thing that is growing well in my garden are peppers but they are not out of control to the “mania” level. I am very proud of them, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

