I bought a catcus…

Standard
My beat up, half chopped up cactus and the larger pot I moved it to.

My beat up, half chopped up cactus and the larger pot I moved it to.

I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by the world last Friday as you will note in my Glum Doesn’t Even Begin to Cover It post. I had 3 days off for the weekend after that and on one of them I went to a garden shop as I have come to realize, mostly through my herb garden growing last summer, that I truly like to grow things. It gives me a lot of joy. My foray lead to all sorts of ideas but I walked out of the place with a beat up looking, possibly chopped up, small cactus plant that had no label other than “red” on it.

Can't find a match online for mine but am hoping it will turn into something like this.

Can’t find a match online for mine but am hoping it will turn into something like this one day.

The shop girl thinks it may bloom red flowers and that is why the label was there but said she has no idea what kind of cactus it is or any other details about it as the owner of the shop bought it in a bulk group with other plants from a market going out of business. I transplanted it into a larger pot and will now wait to see what happens next. Some cactus varieties take years to grow. The lady did not think this would be one of them (am not that patient!) but we shall see. The garden centre had a similar larger one that was very impressive but no one could confirm if they were the same.

Not sure what has drawn me to this little guy but now I have it and am hoping it will be the type of plant that grows slow and steady and one day will be an impressive specimen. Some varieties look so neat! The best part is that this is a real hardy plant that can deal with a bit of neglect here and there-although I do not plan to be a neglect-er. Will post another pic down the road!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Happiness… | I am 32 now

Leave a Reply

