Prepping for the new year…

Standard
This fab drink dispenser is one thing I got for Christmas. The only issue is that it is requires quite a bit of space for storage.

This fab drink dispenser is one thing I got for Christmas. The only issue is that it is requires quite a bit of space for storage.

At this point, my husband and I have absolutely no plans for new year’s eve. However, I do know that I want 2015 to be a very productive year. So, in order to prepare for all this productivity, I have decided I must be organized-and will start by organizing our little cottage. I woke up this morning and went right to it. I started in, and am still working on, the kitchen. This is usually the most time consuming.

For Christmas I had many kitchen related items on my wish list such as a lovely cake dome, nice measuring cups, and a drink dispenser etc that require quite a bit of space but will one day be useful for entertaining (which we usually only do in the summer due to lack of space indoors BUT I think we will have a lot to celebrate next year). All morning, I have been cleaning out, getting rid of, and recycling all kinds of things to create space and evaluate what we really need and what is extra. I realize we have far too many plastic tubs in which sour cream, feta cheese etc come in at the market. I feel obligated to keep them for a bit but am happy they are recyclable as that means they can be rid of with minimal guilt. I will try not to let them build up so much next year. I also found all sorts of things I borrowed from my parents which I set aside and will return this week. That alone should create some more space.

Now I am just showing off by adding this pic! I asked for and received this awesome cake platter that can be used in these 3 other ways. I love multi-functional things.

Now I am just showing off by adding this pic! I asked for and received this awesome cake platter that can be used in these 3 other ways. I love multi-functional things.

I next plan to sort out all the endless hand and body lotions, body butters, candles, and fragrant soaps we have about the house. Most of them are gifts from others etc and seem to never end. I plan to organize them and use one at a time (we often start one and forget it and open another) until we are finally rid of them. All these half used bottles take up a lot of space. It drives me crazy. I think the way too cheap sales at Bath and Body Works (that horrible store!) need to be banned for a while so people stop gifting these things. I mean if you buy three and then get three free… you tend to pass on one or two and then I am stuck with them! 🙂

The last part of my clean up will be putting things in their proper place-and keeping them there-so that they stay organized (hopefully). By the time the new year comes, I hope I can then focus on the new goals and plans to make 2015 a productive year. Details will have to come in another post as I need to get back to organizing!

Leave a Reply

