Not a bad Christmas…

Standard

Christmas was literally a headache. Both yesterday and today my head ached for most of the day. It was a major inconvenience but I managed to cope with it most of the time and we had a pretty great Christmas this year which was wonderful after the last two not so great ones!

Gifts piling up under the tree and more came later.

Gifts piling up under the tree and more came later.

Opening gifts was a heap of fun as we all got to see the surprises we had in store for each other. I was particularly spoiled as I got all I wanted and more. All were useful things-plus a few extra to spoil me into the New Year. My siblings and husband loved all I purchased for them. All were so easy to shop for…except my father and brother. My husband was shocked by and loved his bobble head. His reaction was priceless. I caught it on video and if I ever need a smile, I will have to watch it. Opening gifts kept us busy for a whopping 2 hours!

My mulled wine in process. Orange peels, lemon slices, cloves, cinnamon sticks, and more go into this pot to create Christmas in a glass.

My mulled wine in process. Orange peels, lemon slices, cloves, cinnamon sticks, and more go into this pot to create Christmas in a glass.

On Christmas Day, we put together our feast. In the afternoon, when we started cooking, I made our mulled wine so we could sip it as we cooked. Everyone loved it. By dinner my head ached like no tomorrow so I abandoned the hosting a bit and let my sister take over for a while. In the late evening, our family all changed into their new Christmas pajamas (everyone was gifted a pair by someone else!) and we watched movies late into the night. My husband and I stayed over at my parents home on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and plan to today, Boxing Day, as well. My mom is in heaven having us all here.

Today, none of us dared to go out for Boxing Day but instead had a lazy day together lounging about the house-watching tv and movies and enjoying home cooking. I finished off my novel and started a new one. It was a perfect and relaxing holidays with very little stress or drama. Now we have the weekend to enjoy, and then back to work Monday-Wednesday before having another handful of days off!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

