Winter vacation continued…

Standard
Winter scene along the way.

Winter scene along the way.

The last few days we have been enjoying our winter holiday at a remote log cabin. Although it did not snow (except on the drive) there is plenty of soft snow on the ground due to the mild weather (which is cold enough to maintain it without making it crunch!). During the day it has been about 2-4 degrees Celsius with sunny weather and much colder at night. This has been perfect as it is comfortable outside with winter clothing. Any colder and I am sure that we would prefer to stay indoors the whole time which would defeat the purpose of the trip.

Natural cooler!

Natural cooler!

We have been driving around in mountains and hills that surround the area enjoying the snow, stopping to go sledding (so fun!!), making snow structures and snowmen, as well as trying out the snow chains my husband was so excited about. We have not needed them due to the lack of snow but were able to give them a whirl on one of the winter wonderland trails where the snow was much deeper. My personal favourite has been venturing onto the frozen lake…it is perfect for skating or sliding around on. However, I stayed around the edges as I worry the centre may still be a bit weak and I really do not want to see what it is like to fall through and risk death!

We had to shovel away the snow, get to the natural ground, and build a fire, reduce it to coals, and then my husband cooked this Georgian shashliki on the coals.

We had to shovel away the snow, get to the natural ground, and build a fire, reduce it to coals, and then my husband cooked this Georgian shashliki on the coals.

We also have been enjoying a lot of food and drink. I brought my mini-bottles of champagne that can be easily stored in the snow to keep cool. Last night I attempted a mulled wine recipie and it was great. I will definitely make it again. I realized I can only have a cup or two, however. We have been eating delicious food (which we have to make from scratch since we are so far away from markets and had to purchase all ingredients in advance-but there is a small market attached to a gas station with some basic food staples) and I learned that everyone wants my breakfast potatoes every morning-they are a hit! It is always nice to get good feedback.

Water dripping from above created these stalagmites (I remembered this term from high school lessons even though I do not think it applies to ice).

Water dripping from above created these stalagmites (I remembered this term from high school lessons even though I do not think it applies to ice).

Today my husband built a fire and cooked Georgian style shashliki on it. The ladies enjoyed the fire itself (while enjoying snow cooled sparkling wine) while the men obsessed about the meat, coals, temperature and all that. It has been great to slow down, enjoy good food and drink, and socialize (despite the Xbox and two Playstations that were brought along!).

A snapshot from the balcony where the bbq is... my Julie balcony is above.

A snapshot from the balcony where the bbq is… my Juliette balcony is above.

Leave a Reply

