Diwali 2014…

Standard
A pic of a woman making rangoli at her door. It is often made of coloured rice, sand, flour, or flower petals.

A pic of a woman making rangoli at her door. It is often made of coloured rice, sand, flour, or flower petals.

Tomorrow is Diwali! If you have no idea what that means, you can refer to this post and this post to get some background but basically it is an Indian holiday. I always prefer it when it happens in November but this year, obviously, it is in October and on a Thursday. I will be off at a human resources conference all day (I tried to get out of it but with no success…am guessing it will be dull and boring day!) and then I will come home late in the evening so not much celebrating this year.

However, I already purchased my new set of fancy diyas (last year I promised I would add to my collection annually) and will be able to light them for the evening. We also have some orange mini-lights for Halloween that we can put on for this festival of lights evening. People also usually do the following to celebrate:

  • Clean the house – it’s considered lucky.
  • Decorate the home with clay lamps (diyas), and candles
  • Light some fireworks (lights and clean/perfect homes attract the goddess Lakshmi who brings prosperity to the home)
  • Buy new clothes
  • Eat sweets
  • Exchange gifts (an especially auspicious day to buy gold)
  • Create rangoli (colourful patterns in entranceways meant to encourage visits from gods)

Am pretty sure I will not have time for all this but will definitely mark the occasion one way or another.

A complete design for diwali. Perhaps it is something I will tackle for next year!

A complete design for Diwali from the internet. Perhaps it is something I will tackle for next year. A great project to do with my mom next time. I will put it on my list of 33 next year!

Leave a Reply

