Work and vacation for the rest of 2014…

Standard

Recently, at work, our office supplies company sent a little email reminding us that it is time to order our 2015 calendars! I was a bit taken aback as I realized it is already mid-September. I have no doubt the rest of the year will be done in a flash and it really will be 2015. I have been working a lot lately and have been reminded what stress feels like. Even though it was a busy summer at work, somehow it was still light and stress free. Now things feel heavier already.

After much searching we managed to find this 4 bedroom cabin that can accommodate us and our friends.

After much searching we managed to find this 4 bedroom cabin that can accommodate us and our friends.

In order to ensure, I am taking care of myself (also part of my health and wellness plan in general) I went through my almost completed 2014 calendar to see when I could book off more random days (I already did this once but I have to bring my vacation bank down even further). So, I added a day to most long weekends as well as created a few more by booking off some Mondays or Fridays. This is what the rest of the year looks like so far:

  • One work day off next week
  • Three work days off in October
  • Four work days off in November
  • Six work days off in December plus 3 days of office closure for Christmas (this includes our winter getaway).

All these random days I will be sure to enjoy. Also, since I will be working more hours than usual for at least the rest of September and October, I am sure I will bank some time and be able to take off another random day here and there. I will probably want to use these in November since it is my least favourite month. On such days we will probably stay local as we have finally booked a cabin for our December snowy getaway and have that to look forward to.

Nothing is better than having an exciting trip to look forward to. 80 days til the trip! The cabin (which is more like a full size log home rather than a cabin) has met all the requirements I had in mind (including wifi!!) and seems perfect for what my husband had in mind as well. Deposit is paid so now I can focus on looking into fun activities to enjoy when there-but not until the date is much closer as I have lots to enjoy before then. Included are some pics from the owner’s website! Perfection, or what?!

A winter wonderland.... and perfect for my cross country skiing plans

A winter wonderland…. and perfect for my cross country skiing plans

One response »

  1. Pingback: Work and vacation for the rest of 2014...

Leave a Reply

