Lost books…

Standard

I wrote about all the fabulous books I have recently read in a word document on my computer-the same computer that is dying and is not yet accessible. So, this list is more or less lost. But, I still want to quickly post those I can remember before I forget or in case I cannot recover the list. Seems like the theme in many of these novels was mother-child relationships!

qofpalmyrabookThe Saffron Kitchen by Yasmin Crowther-Mothers sure can mess you up! This book is about an Iranian woman and her half British daughter. The daughter struggles to understand her mother and eventually does so (at least somewhat) when they both go back to Iran and the daughter understands the history of her family.

The Queen of Palmyra by Minrose Gwin-Again, there are some mother issues in this novel. This time the family is American and live in the South in the 1960s. The main character is a white girl of ten years who struggles with all kinds of things related to her family and society in this small town.

The Artist of Disappearance- by Anita Desai-I read this after enjoying another one by this same author. A bit depressing but an interesting collection of three stories that take place in different parts of India and about very different people. Again, I have to say that I like the way this individual writes as it always draws me in and makes me want to read more.

East Wind West Wind by Pearl S. Buck- I have always enjoyed every novel I read by this author. It must have been strange to have grown up at such a time in China and be a white woman. This novel deals with a young woman who must deal with changing times. She slowly adapts her own views due to family members and her brother’s marriage to an American.

The Sweet Everlasting by Judsom Mitcham-It took me a long time to get through this one. The first half of it is slow but it takes a turn for the better after that. This is another Southern USA book with dark themes. The story follows a young male until he is old. A tragedy is involved.

One response »

Leave a Reply

