Old friends…

Standard

Recently, I reconnected with an old friend. I have not seen her in 4 years! I cannot believe so much time has gone by-and many things have changed for both of us. For example, I moved overseas, met someone, got married abroad, brought my husband over here, took several trips, and have cycled through 3-4 jobs. She has stayed at the same job but has had several promotions, is buying her first home, and has been diagnosed with (and survived) cancer. Despite all this, we managed to catch up over a long fabulous dinner and both feel we can pick up and carry on our relationship like we have never had such a huge gap. We also know we don’t have to be in touch daily, weekly, or even monthly to have a nice bond. Some friendships are so great like that!

The very next day I met up with another gal pal (one that I have been in touch with more regularly) and we decided to spend a nice afternoon together. We went for a long stroll, had a bite to eat along with a chat, and then I dropped her off at home. This friendship has changed over time when she was in a relationship, then when we were both single at the same time, and then as I moved away and came back with a partner but the core connection is always there. I am so thankful for that!

I have decided I need to make more time for my friends and friendships. They are very valuable and must not be neglected.

Leave a Reply

