Hablo español

Standard

Okay, so the title of this post is not true. I do not speak Spanish….yet! But, I am excited to say that my motivation has kicked in and I have started officially learning (it was on my list for this year, after all). I should have learned BEFORE I went to Mexico but the timing was not right. I did learn enough to do okay (and impress my travel partners) but that was just key phrases that were useful.

Now, I am ready to take on the learning of the language and not just elements of it. Studying a language can be fun…if you get to use it eventually so I guess more trips to Latin America will need to be planned. My sister does have a house in Argentina, so I will have to make an effort to get down there and hang around for awhile. Also, I love Costa Rica and want to take my husband there on a fun vacation at some point.

Anyway, so the big question is how am I learning this fabulous language? I decided I will ease myself into it by following some online lessons and videos. So far, so good. I have also ordered a CD set from the local library called Learn Spanish in Your Car since I have a 45 minute drive each day and I may as well take advantage of that time by listening to the language…and repeating and repeating and repeating, of course. It should arrive next week. It may not be the best way to learn, but, for me, this two pronged approach is good start as I cannot take on a class just yet. So, hopefully soon, I will be able to give a brief and simple update in Spanish beyond soy una estudiante de español.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

