Spring cake….

Standard
Great ideas like this one I found online.

Great ideas like this one I found online.

I have foolishly committed to baking a cake or cupcakes for a gathering next week. The theme of the gathering is ‘spring’. Why did I agree to this task, I wonder? I am no baking expert but did a lot of Google searching to come up with absolutely no good ideas as to what I can make that would reflect the spring season.

Who has the time for this?

Who has the time for this?

I mean, most berries and fruits etc are not ready until summer after all. Pies seem more like an autumn thing and ice cream is definitely for the summer.  I guess anything also goes for winter or things that are Christmas related but what would be a spring like cake? No idea!

I could not image dare eating such a thing after someone put so much work into it!

I could not imagine dare eating such a thing after someone put so much work into it!

The good thing about my Google search is that I did see all kinds of cakes and cupcakes in fancy shapes that could reflect the season, I guess, so that is the route I will probably take. I consider it the easy route. All I will need is to cut the cake in the right shape and some coloured icing and candy or sprinkles which are easy enough to buy. Rather than a cake out of a box, I will probably attempt to make a nice cake from scratch. I did make that Italian wedding cake a long time ago from scratch for a mini-tea party I put together and it was a hit. I guess I am not hopeless-perhaps I agreed to this for a subconscious challenge. I am a bit competitive and will do my best.

Cute but not easy!

Cute but not easy!

However, some shapes I found online looked like a total pain (ie frog shaped cupcakes with special googly eyes made of some kind of candy!) but others looked easy enough. I am sure I can make a yummy base cake from scratch and decorate it decently. However, next time I will think twice about agreeing to something like this. I am no Martha Stewart, after all, and no need to pretend to be!

Leave a Reply

