Snapshots from Georgia…

Standard
The most delicious oranges I have ever tasted. I would eat 3 a day. Picking in this orchard begins in November!

The most delicious oranges I have ever tasted. I would eat 3 a day. Picking in this orchard begins in November!

My husband has lived in my country for over a year now.  I know he misses his homeland-Georgia-and I do too, at times. He had an opportunity to go home for a quick visit but did not as our marriage was in a delicate state at that time. He chose to stay and focus on us-and it likely saved our marriage. Our romance started and blossomed in Georgia and we made sure that every day was special-whether it was going out for a bite to eat, attempting to cook non-Georgian dishes at home, or just getting in the car and driving. Somehow, time is different in Georgia and there seems to be more time to relax and enjoy oneself.

Peacocks at the park!

Peacocks at the park!

Here, things are different. By the time you get home from work, one is exhausted and the evening passes by in a flash. Despite having washing machines, dryers, vacuums, and dishwashers, household chores are a pain. Soon, you are back in bed preparing for the next day.

Near Kazbeqi which is close to the Russian border. Religious Georgians were burnt in this tower.

Near Kazbeqi which is close to the Russian border. Religious Georgians were burnt in this tower.

My husband and I both worked in Georgia, but somehow there seemed to be more time there during the week and weekends. While we were there, we made sure to use our time well and took advantage of weekends to take mini-trips and excursions. (I will admit that it helped that everything there was cheaper but much of the time our entertainment was free.)

Wildflowers in March!

Wildflowers in March!

Despite the variety of entertainment available here (movie theaters, malls, bowling alleys, etc that are not available there-or at least not while I was there since things are changing every day!) we often do not make having some fun a priority. Weekends are used up in catching up with shopping and chores. I find it is easy to get caught up in the logistics of life and not the living of it! Life is short and I would like to make sure we have more fun (at minimum on weekends if it is not possible during the work week!). Hence, I added this to my list of things I need to focus on.

The famous Batumi beach. Personally, I like sandy beaches but this does not stop Georgians (and Armenians, Russians etc) from enjoying!

The famous Batumi beach. Personally, I like sandy beaches but this does not stop Georgians (and Armenians, Russians etc) from enjoying!

To inspire myself, I want to add some snapshots of Georgia. There was not that much formal entertainment available, but somehow we still managed to entertain ourselves-even it if was taking a local road-trip to a village that had nothing to offer a visitor! During these road trips in Georgia we saw all kinds of random things (see pictures!). To encourage more local road tripping, I have used one of my points cards to order a free $350 worth of gas gift cards. Am hoping most of this we can spend while driving around for entertainment and not for work!

Traditional Georgian dancing.

Traditional Georgian dancing.

One of the challenges with living where one grew up is that one takes everything for granted and choose not to participate in things that tourists would love. So, I think I need to take on a more tourist attitude in order to make sure we have more fun.

TBILISI-the capital city! This was taken from Narikala Fortress which gives you a great view of the city!

TBILISI-the capital city! This was taken from Narikala Fortress which gives you a great view of the city!

While in Georgia, we explored and drove all over the country from the ‘Lovers City’ of Sighnaghi at the eastern end of the country to the resort town of Kobuleti along the Black Sea. There was a lot of driving aimlessly but we saw and experienced many things along the way. Enjoy the photos! All of these were great memories for me and I hope to create more locally!

En route to Kazbeqi

En route to Kazbeqi

Sighnaghi-The Lovers' City

Sighnaghi-The Lovers’ City

Sighnaghi-still a walled city.

Sighnaghi-still a walled city.

* I just also created a section called JUST PHOTOS! Check out pics of the yummy food we ate in Georgia.

Leave a Reply

