Moving to the country…

Standard

I am moving to the country-again. In case you did not know, I grew up in a rural farm area. It had a huge impact on my early life and had a lot to do with shaping me into the person I am now. My family sold off the farm and moved into “town” a few months before high school was finished. This was a brief shock (first exposure to people living so near!) followed by a move to the city for university. Now, I am 30 years old, and moving back to the country. Why, you ask? Well, my husband and I have successfully resolved many of our issues and feel confident about working on those that remain. Thus, on Valentine’s Day, I plan to let him know I am ready to move in with him. He chose his current accommodation hoping that this would eventually happen-and it will very soon. I have already spent many nights there and am happy. It is small and cozy and quite like my flat back in Georgia-where my husband I and were very happy together.

The property is on a hobby farm and is a tiny cottage separate from the main house. All around are farms and ranches with smart white picket fences and electric iron gates at the driveways. Horseback riding is popular in this area so I intend to take my husband as the weather improves. Donkeys, chickens, pigs, dogs, cats, and turkeys wander the lower portion of the property while the upper hosts a pond, an orchard, and some lawns. It is pretty-and I am sure prettier in the spring and summer when the trees have leaves-and surrounded by a white picket fence. My husband immediately fell in love with it when he was looking for a place. I am guessing it reminds him of Georgian village life a little bit! The landlords are a former hippy vegetarian couple who only take in rescue animals and travel to Japan to protest seal hunting. They have brought us vegan bread and provide farm fresh eggs once in awhile. A small quaint one street village (it was a separate town back in the day but is now considered a neighbourhood of a larger district) is a short drive away so we are not too isolated. The hubby already made sure we have high speed internet and has stocked the fridge and cupboards with my favourite foods! I suspect we will be happy there.

There are some downsides, however! Such as the city not collecting garbage; this means we have to recycle and compost as much as possible. The good thing is that the landowner has offered to take what garbage remains (along with hers) to a friend’s house each Tuesday where the city does pick up garbage. Another issue is water-the hot water tank seems to run out quickly. Two people can still easily take showers but after that the hot water is limited and takes time. I had a much smaller one in Georgia so am okay with this as well. The shower is also very small which is annoying but not the end of the world. The last two issues are that the place is a bit small so storing things requires some creativity (we can deal with this) and, finally, there is no washing machine! However, the village has a laundromat which is supposed to be quick and easy or I can take things to my parent’s home as they live fairly nearby.

So, despite spending a lot of time there in the last while, this will be my future home. I look forward to it!

Leave a Reply

