Checking in!

Standard

It has been more than 5 months since I have started this blog and posted my list of 30 things. Naturally, much has changed over the last 5 months and to make sure I am making the most of this experience and time, I feel it is time to revisit my list. Some things I can clearly mark off as complete and others need to be revised or updated. Here we go:

  1. Read 15 novels (this will be a piece of cake as I am an avid reader!) This was, as I said, a piece of cake. I am going to update this goal by moving my book number up to 30.
  2. Make a cake! (a type that has not been attempted in the past.My creation was the Italian Cream Cake. I enjoyed it even more by sharing with my gal pals.
  3. Take a vacation or go on a trip (an obvious priority)The husband and I completed this by taking our random road trip.
  4. Start or take steps to start own business (already got my partners picked out but lots of prep to do!!! Because so much is going on, I would like to revise this item to conduct further research into starting our own business
  5. Visit the capital city
  6. Boating…
  7. Try to take more photographs-Ongoing
  8. Keep up this blog-Ongoing
  9. Learn to cook one new fabulous thing-I think I did this but will leave it as is for now.
  10. Have my own Christmas tree for the first time
  11. Choose 2 new charitable causes to contribute to-I have already contributed to two wonderful causes but would like to challenge myself to contribute to two more!
  12. Put some effort into the look of the home-Ongoing
  13.  Celebrate Halloween properly: pumpkin carving, costume, ghost train-I made sure my husband had an authentic Halloween!
  14. See an unknown part of my country
  15. Get in awesome financial shape ( I already made a chart )-Due to some unexpected situations, I will have to update this to get into decent financial shape!
  16. Obtain a perfume that I actually like-I picked one and will put it on my Christmas list.
  17. Get a bread maker and make that homemade onion bread!
  18. Make sure New Year’s Eve is a decent night (I have only had 1 decent one so far)
  19. Buy 5 decent new clothing items for work (I have the worst wardrobe and I know it!)
  20. Support the immigrant husband through his transition time to the best of my ability-this one entails A LOT-Ongoing and doing a great job!
  21. Buy a coffee table-Due to no longer needing such a table, I would like to change this item entirely. The new item is that I would like to try something new. What? Anything! In fact, 3 new things.
  22. Celebrate the small stuff more often-Ongoing
  23. Visit a ski resort
  24. Connect with the loved ones more often-In the last while I have realized I do not need to connect with the loved ones more as they seem to be around quite enough! I think I need to revise this item to spending quality time with the loved ones and trying to bring some joy and positivity into their lives.
  25. 25.   Master a dish from my husband’s country-My khatchapuri and lobiani still has not been ‘mastered’ but the stuffed mushrooms have been. I have not posted an update about this but will soon!
  26. Visit a wine region-During our road trip in July, we visited a wine region in Washington State. I hope to take my husband to the local region as well.
  27. Go to the gym more this year-for the whole year and not just a month or two-Due to my hectic schedule thus far and being caught up in so many other activities, I would like to revise this item to generally take better care of my health.
  28.  Play blackjack and win –I did not mention it but during our road trip, in which we visited Reno and Las Vegas, we won playing blackjack-but we also spent or re-gambled it before returning home. I taught my husband this evil game back in Georgia (and he was terrible for a long time!). A few times earlier this year he surprised me by handing me $5-700 from the $100 he started with!
  29.  Hang out with nephew and niece-even if it means going to Florida again.-I was lucky when my cute niece and nephew came for a visit in June. Thus, I spent some quality time with them and dodged a visit to Florida.
  30. Always try to keep positive despite the challenges coming up. Improve and plan for the big changes that are coming up.-This one is ongoing.

Now that I know what I have done and what has been added, here is my new list:

  1. Read 30 novels
  2. Conduct further research into starting my own business.
  3. Visit the capital city
  4. Boating…
  5. Try to take more photographs
  6. Keep up this blog
  7. Learn to cook one new fabulous thing
  8. Have my own Christmas tree for the first time
  9. Choose 4 charitable causes to contribute to
  10. Put some effort into the look of the home
  11. See an unknown part of my country
  12. Get into decent financial shape
  13. Obtain a perfume that I actually like
  14. Get a bread maker and make that homemade onion bread!
  15. Make sure New Year’s Eve is a decent night
  16. Buy 5 decent new clothing items for work (I have the worst wardrobe and I know it!)
  17. Support the immigrant husband through his transition time to the best of my ability-this one entails A LOT
  18. Try 3 new things!
  19. Celebrate the small stuff more often.
  20. Visit a ski resort.
  21. Spend quality time with the loved ones and trying to bring some joy and positivity into their lives.
  22. Take better care of my health.
  23. Always try to keep positive despite the challenges coming up. Improve and plan for the big changes that are coming up.

Five months have gone by and I feel it has been a roller coaster. Writing this blog has been enjoyable so far as has been reflecting on parts of my life. I hope I get through my list and this 30th year as a better individual who has grown a lot! For now, along with everything else life brings, I have 23 items to focus on.

Leave a Reply

