Celebrating the triumph of good over evil…

Standard
Lakshmi-Goddess of Wealth and Good Fortune. Clean your house, light your lamps tonight, and expect a visit!

Lakshmi-Goddess of Wealth and Good Fortune. Clean your house, light your lamps tonight, and expect a visit!

Today is diwali, the fabulous South Asian holiday, and it is time to celebrate the triumph of good over evil. In the last while I have sometimes felt I have been living this battle personally!! Despite the twists and turns, I think I have held up pretty well and overcome a lot of challenges this past year. I suppose I can say the war is ongoing but I have been victorious in various battles. For those of you who do not know, diwali is a holiday celebrated in South Asia. More information can be found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diwali. In my super multicultural corner of the world, there are many South Asians- as my husband was surprised to find out when he first arrived here. I also am proud to have roots in northern India myself.  All my life, diwali was a day my family marked in one way or another-some years more so than others.

This year, I decided to take a more active role in marking the holiday and also pay attention to my list by celebrating the small things more. Thus, yesterday, I spent considerable time cleaning and organizing the house. I strung up lights and prepared candles to light for this evening- the oil lamps I will hold off on until tonight. I put out sweets and fruit so when I come home from work, we can jump into the holiday. I also arranged for some Indian snacks to munch on (and take to lunch today!). I will have to pick up a few things during my work break as well but by this evening our household should be ready for Lakshmi’s visit. May prosperity and well being (spiritual well being especially) spread amongst the entire world.

In the spirit of the holiday, I also am contributing to two charities this week which is also one of the items on my list of 30. One is the United Way and is through a work campaign and this morning I left a donation of various household items for Big Brothers and Sisters to pick up.

As I write this blog entry this morning, I am feeling a need to let more light into my life. It has been diminished since I returned to this western lifestyle. Also, things have been heavy for the last while (with times of light as well) and I am going to make a more concerted effort to bring more joy into my life and the lives of others. As for those heavy things I have been holding on to, which I cannot control, I will try to learn to let go and float above them. As I light my lamps and candles tonight, I will try to let some of the light fill my soul and carry me forward into the next 12 months a bit lighter and better. Happy Diwali to all!!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Diwali 2014… | I am 32 now

Leave a Reply

