Recovered from Thanksgiving

Standard
Our small Thanksgiving turkey-final product. My sister abandoned me to cook it and I had to wash this thing myself. Luckily we made up before it came time to stuffing it.

Our small Thanksgiving turkey-final product. My sister abandoned me to cook it and I had to wash this thing myself. Luckily we made up before it came time to stuffing it.

This past weekend was Thanksgiving in my fair country. This means all weekend the focus should have been on food, food, and more food! At least, that is how it usually is in most families. Our focus, however, was drama, drama, and more drama. In the movies you often see dysfunctional families at their finest during the holidays…well, this is exactly how most holidays go down in my family. One way or another, the drama comes out full force. Now that the holiday is over and a few days have passed, most of the drama has been resolved, or at least pushed aside, until the next gathering.

Families can drive you over the edge at times and we all had a moment or two this weekend. I found on two occasions this past week that two of my sisters were taking out their own frustrations on me. Their actions in the moment upset me greatly and I took it quite personally. Only later was I able to step back and see that their own problems were making them lash out at me. Not cool and not fair so I made sure  I brought it to their attention a bit later when they had cooled down. I hope this will prevent them from this behaviour in the future-or at least reduce it-as I know when times get crazy you often tend to take it out on those closest to you.

One of my contributions to the feast was a Pumpkin Cheesecake (very easy to make actually!) and a New Orleans Chocolate Pecan Pie (yummy! the bourbon makes all the difference!)

One of my contributions to the feast was a Pumpkin Cheesecake (very easy to make actually!) and a New Orleans Chocolate Pecan Pie (yummy! the bourbon makes all the difference!)

This Thanksgiving, despite the drama, I tried to appreciate and celebrate the small things-one of the things on my list. In speaking to two of my sisters, I was trying to explain to them that despite all the craziness going on in our lives or even just around us, we have to try to carve out a bit of happiness for ourselves and see the silver lining in all situations (or we will go mad-at least in our house!). One of my sisters is going through a divorce and constantly finds herself depressed. I feel getting her to see the silver lining in smaller things will help her get through and this weekend we spoke a lot about this. At the end of the holiday she mentioned she was thankful for someone giving her such advice.

In the end, we had a somewhat merry holiday together (somehow it especially appears this way on the videos we made!). We laughed, we cried, we screamed and yelled, and we also learned a little about each other and ourselves. For my husband, it was his first Thanksgiving ever. In the morning over breakfast I explained the history of Thanksgiving and we both shared what we were thankful for. I am on his list and he is on mine! He also loved the food and gathering of family but probably could have done without the drama (ha ha ha-he will learn it is inevitable in a family of women-just wait until Christmas!). In closing, all I can say is that I hope we can build on this Thanksgiving and have an increasingly better one each year. But, hopefully, next year someone else will take on making the turkey because this vegetarian is not interested!

Leave a Reply

