A little preventative mental healthcare anyone?

Standard
Next time I am stressing out I will imagine myself at this table on the balcony of a fantastic Italian restaurant in Zanzibar-far away from all the troubles of the world and watching the dhows go by...

Next time I am stressing out I will imagine myself at this table on the balcony of a fantastic Italian restaurant in Zanzibar-far away from all the troubles of the world and watching the dhows go by…

I am feeling worn out today. It seems that every week I have a new and complicated issue to deal with-whether financial, emotional, martial, work or family related, medical, or something else. Most of these issues are related to my spouse which makes it harder as having 100% control (or close to) is something I can deal with and plan around but being sort of an external observer who is affected by it all is something I struggle with. I know this makes me sound like a control freak-and perhaps I am-but I realize I need to do something about it. After all, the last two days I have been snapping at others like an angry pit-bull (whether aloud or in my head) and I do not enjoy this! My solution? I have made an appointment with a therapist.

When I told my sister about this she was horrified and said she would never share her problems with a stranger and could deal with them on her own. Fair enough-but I was also irritated by her response. All I am doing is engaging in some preventative healthcare. I can see and feel my burn out starting so what is wrong with working on managing it before it turns into full fledge breakdown? Speaking with a complete stranger about absolutely anything with no judgement can be liberating and educational. The last while I have been feeling overwhelmed despite my efforts to contain everything and keep positive. A little professional help to seek clarity and help with priorities will be fantastic.

My goal in the session or sessions depending on how it goes is to find ways to make sure I am taking care of myself while taking care of others so I do not burn out. I also want to find more balance in my life but it is hard when I feel I am constantly running around putting out fires rather than being able to do anything proactive. My session is this Friday and I hope I can walk out of it feeling a bit more in control of my chaotic life so I can climb the rest of the mountains waiting for me!

Leave a Reply

